Last Updated: May 28, 2013By Tags: ,

Abdelatif Kechiche’s “Blue Is the Warmest Colour,” a graphic but incredibly haunting and beautiful lesbian love story, has won the Palme d’Or, as was just announced during today’s closing ceremony. The jury, presided over by Steven Spielberg (the other members: Daniel Auteuil, Vidya Balan, Naomi Kawase, Nicole Kidman, Ang Lee, Cristian Mungiu, Lynne Ramsay, and Christoph Waltz), presented the following awards as well:

The Grand Prix goes to Joel and Ethan Coen’s Inside Llewyn Davis.

Best Director: Amat Escalante for Heli.

The Jury Prize goes to Hirokazu Kore-eda’s Like Father, Like Son.

Best Screenplay goes to Jia Zhangke for A Touch of Sin.

Best Actress: Bérénice Bejo for her performance in Asghar Farhadi’s The Past.

Best Actor: Bruce Dern for his performance in Alexander Payne’s Nebraska.

Agnès Varda and her jury have presented the Camera d’Or, presented to a first feature, to Anthony Chen’s Ilo Ilo.