Queer Palm: IT’S HERE

Last Updated: April 27, 2012By Tags: ,

Every major film festival ought to have its own L.G.B.T. awards to be in step with the times. Berlin has had the Teddy Awards since 1987 and the Queer Lion of Venice was launched in 2007.

Created in 2010, the Queer Palm recognizes a film selected from any of the various selections of the Cannes Festival (the Official selection, Directors’ Fortnight, Critics’ Week and ACID [a selection by independents filmmakers] for its thematic treatment of homosexual, bisexual or transsexual narratives.

This year’s Palm will be chaired by French actress Julie Gayet (pictured)

In 2010, Greg Araki won for “Kaboom.”

Greg Araki with queer palm award

news via inbox

Nulla turp dis cursus. Integer liberos  euismod pretium faucibua